Lynbrook Science Bowl SLAC Champions!!!

Hi Everyone!

This past Saturday, Lynbrook’s Science Bowl Team A competed at the 2015 SLAC Regional Competition and beat out The Harker School to earn 1st place and a trip to Washington DC for the 2015 National Science Bowl Competition! It is the first time a team from Lynbrook has advanced to Nationals since 2012, and this is extremely exciting news.

Congratulations to: Pranav Lalgudi, Nithin Buduma (captain), Jeffrey Chang, Richard Liu, Oliver Dong (and Shamrock the Horse :P ) for their amazing performance this past weekend! Feel free to congratulate them on accomplishing this impressive feat.

IMG_1211 (1)


See you all on Friday!

Tumbling Wing – Jan. 9th Meeting

Hi Everyone!

Yesterday we talked about the technicalities of plane flight and looked at some cool paper airplanes! One of these being the Tumbling Wing, theoretically able to fly forever with the slanted cardboard. Have a look at our president Oliver, with one of his creations.

If you’re interested in making one of these, take a look at this video by the world record holder for the paper airplane distance, John Collins.

See you next week!

Science Olympiad Team Members

Hi Everyone!

Yesterday we announced the results for Science Olympiad teams. Congratulations to all of them!

Team A: Nidhi Navaratna (Captain), Pranav Lalgudi, Jessie Zhao, Lawrence Cheng Richard Liu, Allison Tam, Patrick Dong, William Lu, Akhil Bhandaru, Edward Lee, Chetan Somani, Sean Meng, Matt Wang, Bob Wang, Ajinkya Nene

Team B: Victor Chen (Captain), Robert Yang, Melissa Wei, Katherine Xiao, Joseph Wang, Vinay Kukutla, Advait Patil, Jasper Huang, Durga Ganesh, Rishabh Swarnkar, Susan Zhou, Kevin Peng, Blair Chen, Tony Peng, Alex Hong

Thanks to everyone who tried out! We’ll see you all next week, every week!

Summer Programs Presentation

Hi Everyone!

Today we went over some of the major programs that you can apply to participate in next summer! In case you wanted another opportunity to look at the presentation, here it is!

Also, congratulations to the members of our Science Bowl teams!

  • Team A: Nithin Buduma, Jeffrey Chang, Richard Liu, Pranav Lalgudi, Oliver Dong
  • Team B: Robert Yang, Abhinav Naikawadi, Ajinkya Nene, Jessie Zhao, Advait Patil
  • Team C: Varun Venkatesh, William Hu, Sean Meng, Blair Chen, Moinak Bhattaracharyya
  • Team D: Rohan Mehrotra, Nisarg Shah, Susan Zhou, Andrew Li, Bill Zhu

And we’ll see you next week, every week!

First Meeting of the Year!

It’s a new season for Lynbrook Science, and we’re just about to kickstart the year! Our first meeting is tomorrow, September 12, in Room 302. This is Mr. Leung’s room, located at the corner of the Science Building. We’ll be going through the basics of the club, as well as a cool demo.

See you there!

Congratulations to our 2014-2015 Officer Team!

At last week’s meetings, we held elections for all officer positions for the upcoming 2014-2015 school year! Congratulations to:

Oliver Dong – President

Nithin Buduma, Jeffrey Chang – VP

Nidhi Navaratna – Treasurer

Matt Wang – Secretary

Please come to the meeting to vote! Thank  you to everyone who ran for an officer position!

Update: Biology Olympiad SemiFinalists and Chemistry Olympiad SemiFinalists!

Congratulations to our Biology Olympiad Semi Finalists:

Nithin Buduma, Akshara Balachandra, Tony Jiang, Jessie Zhao, Kevin Chen, Svetlana Miakicheva, Matt Wang, Shirley Li, Prachi Laud

Congratulations to our Chemistry Olympiad Semi Finalists:

Tony Jiang and Steven Hao